Margaret Schaut

One more conservative viewpoint on the world at large.

Amish Summer Savory Tomato Pie


I LOVE pies. I really, really love pies. It isn’t often that I get a great recipe for a savory pie, one good enough for a meal or an unforgettable side dish. Usually always that means quiche, for me, otherwise pies are dessert.

But THIS Amish pie, given to me by an Amish friend I’ve written about elsewhere, is so good that I’d like you to have this recipe BEFORE the tomatoes come in to the garden, BEFORE your church picnics or reunions… you’ll want to keep this recipe handy!

2 c bisquick (she made it easy for me- otherwise use homemade biscuit mix)
2/3 c milk.

Mix together and spread it out evenly in a 10″ pie pan.

Stir together:
1 lb grated parmesan
1/2 t sweet basil
1/2 t garlic salt
1/2 t oregano

divide 1 1/2 c real mayonnaise (you could substitute this with olive oil, dressing, etc.- the Amish make their own mayonnaise)

Peel and slice 6 tomatoes

In layers, over the biscuit mix, put tomato slices, mixed cheese and spread a portion of the mayonnaise. Continue until all ingredients are used up, ending with a layer of cheese mix.
Bake 350 for about 35 mins until biscuit crust is done.

Serve hot or cold

I’d love to hear how you like this!

4 Comments»

  Chef Keem wrote @

This sounds so good I’ll have to try it!

Here in Austin, TX, I get my best tomatoes at the farmers market, usually from my Mennonite friends. They also produce the best cheeses and pork sausage I’ve ever tasted.

Did you know that tomatoes taste umami? I’m talking about the 5th sense of taste just recently confirmed by scientists.

  quiche recipe wrote @

[…] or an unforgettable side dish. Usually always that means quiche, for me, otherwise pies are dessert.https://mschaut.wordpress.com/2008/04/29/amish-summer-savory-tomato-pie/Breakfast Quiches Recipes – Breakfast and Brunch – All RecipesLooking for quiche recipes? Allrecipes […]

  tomatoes wrote @

[…] or an unforgettable side dish. Usually always that means quiche, for me, otherwise pies are dessert.https://mschaut.wordpress.com/2008/04/29/amish-summer-savory-tomato-pie/Fried Green Tomatoes 1991Directed by Jon Avnet. With Kathy Bates, Mary Stuart Masterson, Mary-Louise […]

  desserts wrote @

[…] or an unforgettable side dish. Usually always that means quiche, for me, otherwise pies are dessert.https://mschaut.wordpress.com/2008/04/29/amish-summer-savory-tomato-pie/Dessert – Wikipedia, the free encyclopediaDessert is a course that typically comes at the end of a […]


Leave a Reply

